Michigan Cooling-Off Period: What Does This Mean For Your Divorce?
Michigan is a no-fault divorce state, but it is important to keep in mind that once a divorce complaint is filed, you can’t simply walk away like your marriage never happened. On the contrary, there is a statutorily required “cooling-off” period after the complaint is filed.
Family law is taken seriously by lawyers in Michigan, as in many states, particularly when children are involved. It’s undeniable that if you have children, preparing to file your divorce complaint can be an especially overwhelming process. A Grand Rapids divorce attorney is your best option as you navigate this emotionally draining experience.
How Long is the Cooling-Off Period?
Regardless of your circumstances, there is a minimum period of time necessary for you to wait before your divorce can be finalized. If you have children who are minors, this period of time might be longer: 180 days, or approximately six months, from the date of the initial filing.
For couples without minor children, the waiting period is much shorter: only 60 days, after which divorce proceedings can move forward without much difficulty. Of course, when children aren’t involved, there are less issues to contend with, namely custody and child support, so the process can happen much more quickly and seamlessly.
How Will I Proceed After the Cooling-Off Period is Over?
If you and your spouse get straight to work with a family law attorney to manage your case, it is certainly possible that you could have a fully completed and signed agreement by the end of your cooling-off period. This is the ideal situation, and most couples manage to get it done without too much hassle. Of course, a Grand Rapids attorney with considerable expertise in family law will only make the process simpler.
It is also worth noting that in some extenuating circumstances, you can even get the courts to waive a portion of the 180-day waiting period. However, it is impossible to be granted an exemption if you only have a 60-day waiting period. That is to say, it is impossible to get a divorce finalized in less than two months in the state of Michigan.
If you’re preparing to file a divorce complaint and wish to proceed, contact an experienced and reputable Grand Rapids attorney. At the Law Office of Beth Striegle, PLLC, we have legal knowledge to guide you and compassion to help comfort you as you work through the emotional and frustrating process of divorce.